Challenge yourself!

In my last article I talked about why I decided to start a new blog and today I want to continue this conersation – kind of. When I announced that I was back from my hiatus and might even start a second blog on my initial blog ladysmartypants, I used a quote that has been a source of inspiration and motivation for me. Its concept is what I want to talk about today. The quote is attributed to Henry Ford and goes like this:

“If you always do what you’ve always done, you’ll always get what you’ve always got.”

And that’s why I challenge you to challenge yourself! Try something new for a change! Be bold! Dare to reach for the stars! You don’t have to change the world over night, obviously, but just making a small change, making a little bit of an effort can go a long way. If you aren’t satisfied with your life right now, this is your chance to change that. Even more so if you are in fact happy – keep pushing yourself! Keep exploring and learning. For “Never touch a running system” is the worst motto one could possibly have.

There is so much out there to discover, find and learn. You could try to cook new recipes, a new sport, a new language, or “just” a new hobby. Improve your skills on any level you would like. Even picking up a book every day and reading a few changes can have a huge impact on your vocabulary. Starting to cook from scratch can improve your health and overall happiness. Picking up a new hobby can improve your skillset and help you relax. (And if your lacking ideas – turn to the internet! There are so many incredible and free tutorials online) Just a few minutes of stretching a day can impact your health in a massive way. You see what I’m getting at, right? These are all small thing that won’t turn your daily routine upside down but enrich your life in a way you never though possible.

img_2513

Furthermore, this is not me just babbeling on and on about what you ought to do, while doing the exact opposite myself. I tend to practice what I preach. At the end of January ’17 I taken up Yoga again. Five days a week, no matter what. And I’ve been doing Yoga ever since. I even just started 30 Days of Yoga by Yoga with Adriene – if you don’t know her and are interested in trying Yoga, defnitely check out her videos. She caters to all levels of practitioners and offers so many different practices – you’ll never get bored and learn plenty about your body along the way. (If you’d be interested in my progress, I’d be happy to post an update every now and then 🙂 )
I’ve also dabbled with calligraphy and brush pens, even though I haven’t really found my technique yet. (So please don’t judge me based solely on the small picture above 😀 ) I took up blogging again and don’t get me started on what I am currently doing to my flat, as that’s a topic for another time. (Let me know if you would like me to write about how I decluttered my flat and discovered minimalism.)

I want to end this article with two more quotes that I found very inspirational and motivational:

“The best way to get things done is to simply begin.”

“I can and I will. Watch me.”

What about you? Have you challenged yourself recently?

Comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

