I started a Bullet Journal!

I did it. I finally dared starting my very own bullet Journal. I’m incredibly happy with the way it turned out and wanted to share both my spreads and maybe a few words of wisdom with you!

And if you are completely clueless right now because you never ever heard of a bullet Journal before, I suggest you have a look at this brief introduction and explanation by its creator. Basically, a Bullet Journal (or bujo) is a planner, a to do list and a diary combined into one neat notebook. And since you create all the pages yourself, you are able to tailor them to your every need. You can go as minimalistic and simple or as elaborate and fancy as you please. (I myself choose some sort of middle ground 😉)

Just enter “Bullet Journal” on Pinterest, Instagram, Youtube, and Google and look at all the different spreads and layouts – there is literally nothing you can’t do! (These sites are also a great source for inspiration) But don’t be frightened by all the equipment you might see alongside those spreads. You absolutely don’t have to invest a lot of money into fancy stationary. For starters, simple notebook and a pen will do. If you do want to invest a bit, invest in a good notebook. I (and most other bujo-fanatics) recommend going for a dotted notebook by Leuchtturm 1917 (pronounced as [ˈlɔɪ̯çtˌtʊʁm]), since it is good quality, has plenty of pages and the dots are just perfect if you want a little more freedom.

As for the pens – in the beginning literally any pen will do. You can always upgrade your pens later on. I got the Staedtler pigment liners and I’m quite happy with them. They dry quickly, are nicely pigmented and the package I have, was inexpensive (in comparison to other pens). For a splash of colour here and there I bought the first felt pens I found (30 something for 3 Euros). Everything else I had already lying around in my flat, so I just stuffed it all into an old pencil case and my bujo-kit was good to go.

That being said, let’s have a look at my spreads. 😊

img_2583-1
The heart of a billet Journal are both its index and its key. Since the index is kind of self-explanatory, I’ll only show you my key. I’ll use these symbols throughout my bujo to categorise entries and also deal with them. Migration means that I didn’t get something done by a certain date and had to move it to the next day/week. Scheduled means the same, but it applies to less important tasks only – you didn’t complete them, so you schedule them in your future log.


Now this is my future log – I decided to go big here, since it is the planning tool I needed the most. Most people keep their future log a lot smaller, but I wanted a good overview and lots of space, thus every month got a double page.


After my future log I wanted to see the year at a glance for a more generall overview and a reference tool, to check which day someone’s birthday is one. And next to it, obviously, my birthday register – I really fell for that layout. (And you can already see which header design I love the most)


Following the Birthday calendar, a simple page to help me track the books I’ve read. Since injustice started, the shelves are still empty, but I have every intention of filling them.


I never knew where I ought to do my meal plan, so I ended up using loose pages and I hated it. Now I just pop in a few post its and have the perfect, reusable meal plan and shopping list.


We have reached my monthly spread, where I have a quick overview of events and trackers for both mood and habits. I kept it rather simple here, since I did not want to overdo it – you can only track so many things!


And this is my weekly spread (my first, so it might change a little in the future). In between my monthly and my weekly spreads, I do have a page for inspiration, goals, gratitude and memories. But since June’s spread is very personal, I decided against displaying it on the internet.


Do you have a Bullet Journal? If so, do you have similar spreads or are yours entirely different?

If not, could you see this system work for you?

4 thoughts on “I started a Bullet Journal!

Add yours

  1. Hey, Smarty!
    I’ve kept a bullet journal for a year now and I’m still in love with it. Actually I have two – one for my privat life and one for work – and I still don’t know why my work journal is so much neater than my privat journal. Nevertheless, I love that thing and the writing down stuff and the creativity and tidyness of it all.
    Although mine is not nearly as structured as yours. The pictures look great. I’m still making it up as I go. Hmmmm, gives me the feeling that I don’t have everything under control….
    But a more important matter: WHERE DID YOU GET THIS BIG PACK OF STAEDLER PENS?! O_o Those are my favourites but around here the biggest one is 4 pens. Does it have this magical 0.9 pen? 😮
    Lots of love, M

    Like

    1. Hey there 😊
      Haha, one of the great mysteries of life, I guess xD maybe because your more relaxed in your leisure time and thus don’t need to be as neat? And I hear you with the creativity – all these options are just mind-blowing.
      Give it a little and it’ll get messier, I promise you 😉
      You definitely shouldn’t feel that way, as making it up as you go is the greatest plus of a bujo! An again, I might start out with plenty of structure, but I might not be able to keep it that way 😂
      I got them on amazon – https://www.amazon.de/dp/B004L87XRA/ref=cm_sw_r_cp_api_xd-lzbPBGATDV . It doesn’t have 0.9 but it has 0.8 – but you might be able to get it via amazon 🙂

      Lots of Love ❤️

      Like

  2. Reblogged this on lady smartypants and commented:

    Hallo ihr Lieben,
    heute Morgen habe ich in meinem englischen Blog “serendipitous to a fault” einen neuen Beitrag veröffentlicht, der auch für euch interessant sein könnte.
    Denn am Montag habe ich begonnen, mein neues (und erstes) Bullet Journal zu führen.
    In diesem Beitrag findet ihr meine ersten Spreads und einige allgemeine Informationen.

    Solltet ihr interessiert sein, so halte ich euch gerne auch hier über mein Bullet Journal am Laufenden – in Deutsch dann aber 😉

    Liebe Grüße,
    Smarty

    Like

Comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

